Skip to content
Jobber Academy

Oklahoma Roofing License: How to Become a Licensed Roofer

December 19, 2023 7 min. read
Read More Start Trial

If you’re looking to get into a lucrative trade with a low barrier to entry, getting your roofing license in Oklahoma is a great option.The state of Oklahoma employs just over 1,000 roofers, so there’s lots of opportunity for work. 

The average salary for a roofer in Oklahoma is around $35,286, with more experienced professionals earning over $43,000. Plus, you stand to make much more than that if you start your own roofing business. 

In this guide, we’ll cover the key things you need to know about becoming a licensed roofer in Oklahoma.

Do I need a roofing license in Oklahoma?

Yes. You need to register with the Oklahoma Construction Industries Board (CIB) to work as a roofing contractor in Oklahoma. While the state doesn’t offer “licenses” as a designation, valid registration is required to work. Failure to register is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $500.00. 

The Oklahoma Roofing Contractor Registration Act (RCRA) defines roofing contractors as anyone who takes on commercial or residential contracts involving the construction, installation, renovation, or repair of roofing and waterproofing. 

Types of roofing licenses in Oklahoma

The RCRA divides roofing contractors into two types based on the type of project and scope of the roofing work they perform:

License TypeDetails
Residential Roofing ContractorRegistered residential roofers can work on projects involving residences, including those used for commercial purposes, which have asphalt, shingles, tile, synthetic shake, or other materials applied to a sloped roof. 
Commercial Roofing ContractorRegistered commercial roofers can work on projects involving commercial, industrial, and public buildings with roofs that are not substantially similar to residential ones. 

Commercial roofers need to be endorsed in order to secure the registration. 

Oklahoma roofing license requirements

In order to become a registered residential or commercial roofing contractor in Oklahoma, you need to meet the following requirements outlined by the CIB:

License TypeRequirements
Residential Roofing ContractorApplicant must:
Be 18 or older
Be the owner, partner, or qualifying party of a roofing business
Obtain at least $500,000 in general liability insurance 
Secure workers’ compensation insurance, if applicable
Commercial Roofing ContractorApplicant must:
Have a valid roofing contractor registration
Secure at least $1,000,000 in general liability insurance
Secure workers’ compensation insurance
Pass the commercial endorsement exam

How do I get a roofing license in Oklahoma? (steps)

The CIB outlines all the steps you need to take in order to get your roofing contractor license in Oklahoma.

Here’s what you need to do to become a registered residential roofing contractor: 

  1. Complete the roofing contractor registration form and include all applicable fees with the application
  2. Provide proof that you have a minimum of $500,000 in general liability insurance coverage
  3. Secure the necessary workers’ compensation coverage, self-insurance coverage, or worker’s compensation exemption
  4. Register your business name with the Secretary of State and include either a Certificate of your Record of Trade Name, Record of Fictitious Name, or Certificate of Good Standing with the application
  5. Provide information on your legal business entity and a list of all partners and managers
  6. Complete an affidavit proving your lawful presence in the U.S.

If you want to register as a commercial roofing contractor, you’ll follow the steps above with a couple of alterations and additional requirements: 

  1. Minimum general liability insurance coverage must be at least $1,000,000
  2. Write and pass the Oklahoma Commercial Roofing Contractor Endorsement exam to get your commercial endorsement

You can submit all applications and documents to the Construction Industries Board at the following address: 

2401 NW 23rd, Suite 2F
Oklahoma City, OK 73107

For more information about the application process for roofing contractor registration, check out the CIB’s roofing industry page.

Oklahoma roofing license exam

In Oklahoma, only commercial roofing contractors need to pass an exam to become registered. The testing vendor PSI administers these exams. There are two exams that you need to pass in order to qualify for registration: 

Business and Law ExamNumber of questions: 50
Time to write: 120 minutes
Passing Score: 70% (35/50)

Topics (number of questions):
• Bidding and Estimating (10)
• Project management and supervision (7)
• Contracts (5)
• Financial (8)
• Labor and personnel (5)
• Risk management (4) 
• Payroll and taxes (5)
• Licensing requirements (6)
Roofing Contractor Commercial Endorsement ExamNumber of questions: 50
Time to write: 150 minutes
Passing Score: 70% (35/50)

Topics (number of questions):
• General roofing knowledge (5)
• Low slope roofing (15)
• Architectural metal roofing/sheet metal flashing (9)
• Moisture and energy control (6)
• Repairs and reroofing (8)
• Safety (7)

You can find out more about the registered commercial roofing contractor tests in PSI’s Candidate Information Bulletin.

Does Oklahoma reciprocate roofing licenses?

Reciprocal licenses allow roofers from one state to apply directly for an equivalent license in another state. 

The Oklahoma CIB doesn’t have any formal reciprocity agreements with other states for roofing contractors.

How much does a roofing license in Oklahoma cost?

To become a residential or commercial roofing contractor in Oklahoma, you can expect to pay between $75 and $322, depending on the type of registration you apply for.

Licensing StageFees
Initial registration$75
Initial commercial registration and endorsement$230
Exam (commercial roofing)$92
Registration renewal$100
Late renewal (31-60 days after birth month)$150
Late renewal (over 60 days)$150
Reinstatement of revoked license$300
Commercial registration and endorsement renewal$100
Late endorsement renewal (31 days to 1 year)$100

It’s important to remember that there are also fees associated with getting the required general liability insurance coverage, so factor that into your cost equation as well. 

Oklahoma roofing license renewal

Residential roofing contractor registration needs to be renewed annually through the Oklahoma CIB using the same form as the initial registration. You also need to pay renewal fees that correspond with your registration type. 

In addition to completing the renewal form, commercial roofing contractors also need to complete at least four hours of continuing education every three years. You are exempt for the first three years after passing the commercial endorsement exam, but must fulfill the continuing education for every following three-year period following. The CIB has a list of approved course providers you can use to meet this renewal requirement. 

What happens if my roofing license expires? 

If you think your registration may have expired, stop all work immediately. Any individual or organization that violates the RCRA is subject to administrative penalties of up to $5,000 and misdemeanor charges.Complete the registration renewal application and pay the appropriate fees depending on the type of roofing and how late the renewal is. Keep in mind that a commercial endorsement that’s been expired for longer than one year can’t be renewed.

How to start a roofing business in Oklahoma

After becoming a registered roofing contractor and building up your professional experience, you’re ready to take the next step toward a more successful, lucrative career: starting your own roofing business. 

In the state of Oklahoma, the Department of Commerce oversees business registration and provides information on what you need to do to get your company started, including: 

  • Finding the right business structure
  • Selecting your trade name and filing with the Secretary of State
  • Securing the necessary sales tax permit
  • Establishing your Employer Identification Number with the IRS

The Oklahoma Roofing Contractors Association (ORCA) is also a great hub for information on everything from getting your business registered to learning new tricks of the trade. 

There are also some practical considerations to starting your own roofing business that you need to be aware of—from developing a sales and marketing plan to hiring the right people and finding the right equipment. Check out our guide to learn more about starting your own roofing company

Does a roofing license increase your earning potential?

Considering you aren’t able to perform roofing work without a registration in Oklahoma, completing the process definitely increases your earning potential. While the average roofer earns about $35,000 in the state, you stand to earn well over $40,000 as you build up more experience. 

Join over 200k service professionals that trust Jobber

Get Started