Skip to content
Jobber Academy

Alabama Roofing License: How to Become a Licensed Roofer

December 18, 2023 6 min. read
Read More Start Trial

Are you thinking about getting your roofing license in Alabama? It’s an excellent way to break into the booming U.S. construction market—according to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, roofer employment is projected to grow at a rate of 2% over the next decade, which translates to about 12,200 available roofing jobs nationally each year.

And as renewable power sources such as rooftop solar panels become more widely adopted, licensed tradespeople will be needed to both install and maintain these systems. Roofer salaries in Alabama currently average about $35,500 annually, and with time and experience, the potential for salary growth is higher.

In this licensing guide, we’ve broken down everything you’ll need to know to get licensed as a roofing contractor in Alabama.

Do I need a roofing license in Alabama?

Yes, you’ll need to obtain a license to work as a roofer in Alabama. The only exception is if you work on a project with a value of less than $2,500, including labor and materials, which significantly limits your earning potential.

The Home Builders Licensure Board (HBLB) regulates the Residential Roofer license.

A Residential Roofer is an individual who installs products or repairs materials on the rooftop of a structure or residence, ensuring it is properly sealed and safeguarded against environmental conditions.

Types of roofing licenses in Alabama

There are two types of licenses in Alabama that will allow you to contract and perform work as a roofer: a Residential Home Builders Unlimited license or a Residential Roofer license. 

Note that if you hold an Unlimited Home Builders License, you are qualified to engage in residential roofing and do not need a Roofers License.

If you hold a Limited Home Builders License, you are required to get a Roofers License to engage in residential roofing.

Here are some details about the license types:

License TypeDetails


Residential Home Builders Unlimited
Unlimited licenses are granted to individuals, partnerships, corporations, limited liability companies, and non-profit home-building entities. 

With an Unlimited Home Builders license, you can undertake residential construction projects, including roofing projects, without needing a separate roofing license.


Residential Roofer
Roofer licenses are granted to those who specialize in the trade of installing or repairing the external covering of the top of a residential building or structure.

The remainder of this guide will focus on the requirements and the process of getting a Residential Roofer license.

Alabama roofing license requirements

There are no educational requirements that must be met before applying for a Residential Roofer license. However, Alabama statutes say that a person must be 19 years of age to enter into contracts. 

Additionally, the HBLB requires proof of experience to ensure you have the knowledge and ability to perform the residential contracting work for the license you seek. Each applicant must submit a business or occupational license as a contractor issued by a municipality, township, or county in the state within the past year. 

In many cities, like Huntsville, Alabama, professionals and businesses also have the additional requirement of obtaining a business privilege license. It is important to check with each city where you plan to work to see if additional licenses are required. 

How do I get a roofing license in Alabama? (steps)

Once you have the required experience as a roofing contractor, follow these steps to get your Residential Roofer license: 

  1. Identify a Designated Qualifying Representative (DQR):
    1. For individuals: The applicant must meet all license requirements, including experience and ability
    2. For businesses: The DQR must be a general partner, officer of a corporation, or member/manager of an LLC
  2. Complete and notarize the individual application or the business application
  3. Submit the required license fees
  4. Provide proof of a $10,000 license/permit bond
  5. Contact the Department of Labor for information about insurance requirements
  6. Provide proof of citizenship
  7. Provide documentation to prove you meet the experience requirements (i.e., Alabama business license as a contractor)
  8. Provide any required corporate, LLC, or partnership documentation, if applicable

Mail the application, documentation, and fees to the Home Builders Licensure Board at:

Regular Mail

P.O. Box 303605
Montgomery, Alabama 36130-3605

Overnight Delivery

445 Herron Street
Montgomery, Alabama 36104

Alabama roofing license exam

There are no exam requirements to get your Residential Roofer license in Alabama.

Does Alabama reciprocate roofing licenses?

Reciprocal licenses allow contractors from out of state to apply directly for a license in Alabama. 

However, there are no direct reciprocity agreements for roofers specifically, so even if you hold a license from another state, you’ll still need to follow the entire Residential Roofer license application process. 

Note that if you practice roofing and hold a more general residential construction license from Mississippi, Louisiana, Tennessee, North Carolina, or South Carolina, Alabama does have reciprocity agreements that will let you bypass some exam requirements.

How much does a roofing license in Alabama cost?

You should plan to spend $250 to obtain your initial Residential Roofer license, plus $150 annually for renewal. Here is a summary of all the associated fees:

Licensing StepFees
Residential Roofer Application$250
Annual Roofer License Renewal$150
Late Renewal+$50
Roofer License Reinstatement$300

Alabama roofing license renewal

All licenses are renewed annually online starting October 1st and ending on November 30th. The HBLB encourages renewing your license online. You can request paper renewals by returning a postcard that is mailed to you, but this will slow down the renewal process. 

Renewals received between December 1st and 31st will be considered late and incur a late fee of $50. If you miss the deadline, you’ll also need to cover $300 in additional costs to reinstate an expired Residential Roofer license.

What happens if my roofing license expires? 

You should stop all work immediately if you suspect your license has expired. Operating without a license or using an expired license is considered a Class A misdemeanor in Alabama. You could face a fine of up to $5,000 for each violation. 

If you determine that your license has expired, be sure to fill out the reinstatement form and pay any fees as soon as possible.

How to start a roofing business in Alabama

Once you’ve secured your Residential Roofer license and built up experience in the industry, you’re ready to take the next step: starting your own roofing contractor business. Atlas Alabama is a handy resource that offers you the support you’ll need to get your business up and running, including:

  • Developing a business plan
  • Determining start-up costs
  • Choosing a location
  • Choosing a business structure and name
  • Understanding tax information
  • Securing licenses and permits
  • Getting necessary insurance

There are also some practical considerations to think about when starting your own roofing company, including: 

Does a roofing license increase your earning potential?

Yes, having a roofing license in Alabama increases your earning potential—without one, you will be limited to projects with a value under $2,500. In addition, licensing signals to customers that you have the experience and credentials to do the job correctly.

When you first start out as a roofer, your annual salary might be around $30,000, but with time and experience, you could begin earning more than $40,000 per year. And roofers choosing to start their own businesses can open the door to even higher earnings.

Visit our roofing business resources page for more information, tips, and success stories.

Join over 200k service professionals that trust Jobber

Get Started